Loving a Big Girl In a Fat Shaming World.

I am slim, and I love a big girl… On PURPOSE!
I say “on purpose” because she was never “skinny”. She was big when I pursued her… on purpose. I make this distinction because I am fully aware of your pity. I’m not as oblivious as you may think.
When we are walking down the street together, I can see it in your eyes. I can see it in your body language. I can hear it in your whispers as we pass. In your snickers. As though she somehow tricked me into a relationship. As though she somehow is undeserving of my love because of YOUR prejudice. In fact, the only thing keeping me from busting you in the mouth for that “poor guy” comment that you didn’t think I would hear, IS my love for her. In that moment, her not knowing about your ugliness altogether, is more important to me than lifting you out of your shoes for it. You’re lucky she didn’t hear you too.

She is smart. She is funny. She is compassionate. She is passionate. She is independent. She is a great mother. She is the best wife. There is no human being on this planet that I would rather be with. She is the most important thing in my life.

But all you see is fat.

She is voluptuous. Curvy. Vivid. Vivacious. Full. Complete. With the most sensuous lips I’ve ever seen, and the gaze of a succubus. She sets my blood aflame. She is my siren, and my muse.

Yet, even in the privacy of her own home, she hides her skin from the one person who loves her body wholly and completely and wants nothing more than to see it.

Fuck you for that. Fuck you SO much for that.

Oh, it’s a “health issue” now that you’ve been called out on your prejudice?
Okay, let’s talk about health then. SHE runs several half marathons a year, while your treadmill is collecting dust in the garage. SHE hiked Half Dome and ran a half marathon the following weekend, while you were playing Xbox. She is up at five in the morning, lacing up her running shoes while you are reaching for the snooze button. She is at Zumba after working a ten hour day, while you are picking up a six pack. She is at Tabata while you are curling up for a nap. She is at Yoga, while you are nursing a hangover. She is picking up a salad wrap, while you are stopping for a burger and fries. She eats better than me AND less often, but you assume I’M the health conscious one.
The truth of it is, she probably knows more about diets and clean eating and healthy habits than anyone I know, BECAUSE she has felt the need to try ALL of them… because of you.
And you have the audacity to offer up unsolicited and unwanted health advice?!

No. It’s not a “health issue”. It’s a jealousy issue. You are jealous that she is SO completely loved, inside AND out, while you and your values keep finding sorry, shallow, superficial partners.
Huh. Funny how that works.

See, the thing is, prejudice, hate, and callousness are WAAAY uglier than fat.

So, you can take your pity for me, and your prejudice for her, and shove ’em up your ass.
I love her more than life itself, and she deserves nothing less.
I HOPE that burns you.

Comments are disabled.

